Common ADHD Limiting Beliefs

ADHD Assist
2 min readJan 8, 2023

--

  • I’m lazy
  • I’m not sharp
  • I must not care enough
  • I always ruin relationships
  • I’m not ambitious
  • I’m too much for people
  • I’m too sensitive
  • I’m a distaster
  • No one takes me seriously
  • I just can’t function
  • I’m not enough 💔

Unlearning the numerous limiting beliefs accumulated over your life with ADHD is just as important as learning tools and strategies to manage the condition.

A continuous daily barrage of negative thoughts helps keep us in a state of overwhelm, further worsening ADHD symptoms.

Simple Tools for Unlearning Limiting Beliefs

Daily Simple and Soft Thought Challenges

This helps you softly question some negative beliefs in a gentle manner that allows for more breathing room for your unconscious mind to accept the alternative:

  1. Take a thought inventory over a few days and notice the top 3 negative thoughts.
  2. Commit to noticing when these thoughts pop up.
  3. When one of the negative thoughts pops up, meet it with these two questions: “I wonder if that's 100% true?” and “I wonder if [insert positive alternative view] could be true?”
  4. Rinse and repeat.

NLP and Hypnosis

  • These are powerful tools for modifying unconscious beliefs. These are very common amongst high performers because they really do work when you have a good practitioner.

Mindfulness Meditation

  • A simple method that helps you learn to become the ‘observer of your thoughts’ and that you, in fact, are NOT your thoughts. This can provide deep relief by helping you detach from the stories in your head.

Much love.

--

--

ADHD Assist

160K+ followers on TikTok @adhd_assist. Talking shop about ADHD and natural solutions that can help improve our lives.